Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Well this is new... PRI C/W  (Read 4028 times)
bjbeard
Mission Specialist
****
Posts: 292


At T-9 minutes and holding...


« on: May 11, 2015, 01:38:53 AM »

I clicked the next event to go to deorbit on STS-1 and this happened

I was under the impression that malfunctions were not modeled into the program.
Logged

4merly known as blazingstang
AMD Phenom X4 965 Deneb Black
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
GeIL Enhance CORSA PC12800 16GB
EVGA GTX 550 Ti Thermaltake 850W PS
bjbeard
Mission Specialist
****
Posts: 292


At T-9 minutes and holding...


« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2015, 02:16:36 AM »

FC3 stack temp was off scale high, so I shut it down and landed safely.
Logged

4merly known as blazingstang
AMD Phenom X4 965 Deneb Black
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
GeIL Enhance CORSA PC12800 16GB
EVGA GTX 550 Ti Thermaltake 850W PS
Kerlix
Just joined training
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2015, 04:19:14 PM »

I had no idea that failures were simulated in SSM2007. I wonder what could have caused FC3 to do that.
Logged
Cras
Astronaut
***
Posts: 182


« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2015, 02:21:33 AM »

Wow, of all the times I have flown a SSMS mission I have never seen a failure, I thought the whole process was 'on rails' so to speak.  Like I know you can shut the fuel cells down and get consequences but I didnt know things would actually fail on their own from normal use.
Logged
thammond
Astronaut
***
Posts: 115


« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2015, 08:29:55 PM »

Wow, of all the times I have flown a SSMS mission I have never seen a failure, I thought the whole process was 'on rails' so to speak.  Like I know you can shut the fuel cells down and get consequences but I didnt know things would actually fail on their own from normal use.

I thought there were no random failures built into the program and I would suspect that this isn't the result of a "random" failure but more likely the result of a pilot (astronaut) error.  Its been a while, but I recall being able to simulate some failures by incorrect procedures (ex. putting a switch in the wrong position).  There are some procedures that will halt the program if performed incorrectly.  However, I have found some incorrect procedures that will permit the program to continue and will result in a warning light/message.
Logged
crease34
Just joined training
*
Posts: 10



« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2015, 04:20:48 AM »

i was following shutdown procedures on STS-27 (the LACROSSE mission) and I turned ON the coolant loops per the shutdown check list and got a Freon loop C/W
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC
SMF Theme Designed by XP Concept